Gies Scholar Executive Board

Meet the Spring 2022 Gies Scholar Executive Board! The student board assists with planning programming and providing student input. Elections to fill vacant positions on the student board are held each semester.

Nina Mitchell



DeKalb, IL

Majors: Management

Minor: Political Science and African American Studies

Involvement: Phi Gamma Nu Professional Business Fraternity, Dean’s Student Advisory Board, SCNO, UI Pre-Law Club, Pre-Law Honors Society, National Association of Black Accountants, UChange Mentor, Business International Exchange Network

Minji Choi

Communications Chair


Champaign, IL

Majors: Marketing

Minor: Legal Studies

Involvement: UI Pre-Law Club, C-U Impact, ActGreen

Aditi Kumar

Professional Development Chair


Carbondale, IL

Majors: Accountancy & Information Systems

Minor: Hoeft Techology and Management

Involvement: Illini Bhangra, MannMutki, International Exchange Network, OTCR, Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity

Maddy Whirledge

Mentorship Chair


Naperville, IL

Majors: Accountancy & Finance

Involvement: Phi Chi Theta Professional Business Fraternity, Investment Banking Academy, Prime Mergers & Acquisitions, Margolis Market Information Lab, Illini Dancesport

Nick Alahi

Events Chair


Peoria, IL

Major: Accountancy

Minor: Psychology

Involvement: Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity, SCNO, Illinois Music Business Club, Illini Fighting Hunger

Matt Splitstone

Alumni Chair


Elmhurst, IL

Major: Finance

Minor: Spanish

Involvement: Illinois Enactus, Illinois Student Alumni Ambassadors, Illinois Consulting Academy, Gies Council of Presidents, Stamps Scholars Program, Mi Pueblo Spanish-Speaking Organization, Gies Ambassadors, St. John’s Catholic Newman Center Student Professional

Kayt Raquel

Class of 2022 Representative

Alumni Chair


Naperville, IL

Major: Marketing

Minor: French

Involvement: Kappa Alpha Theta, Phi Chi Theta Professional Business Fraternity, Student Alumni Ambassadors, Illinois Sports Business Conference, Asian American Cultural Center Committee

Kiara Lenhardt

Class of 2023 Representative


Barrington, IL

Major: Accountancy and Global Studies

Involvement: Investment Banking Academy, Business Council, OTCR, Kappa Alpha Theta Sorority

Maya Acevedo

Class of 2024 Representative


West Dundee, IL

Major: Marking & Information Systems

Involvement: OTCR, Gies Ambassadors

Liam Connelly

Class of 2025 Representative


Chicago, IL

Major: Business Undeclared

Involvement: Investment Portfolio Organization, Golder Freshman Initiative